Sacrament Explained.

Sacrament Explained

Sacraments are an important Christian ceremony that is regarded as having significant significance and importance. There are a variety of opinions about the meaning and significance of these rituals. A lot of Christians believe that the sacraments should represent the existence of God and the channel through which God’s grace flows.

The Catholic Church, Hussite Church, and the Old Catholic Church recognize seven Sacraments: Baptism Penance (Reconciliation or Confession), Eucharist (or Holy Communion) Confirmation, and marriage(Matrimony) Holy orders and anointing of the infirm (Extreme unction). The Eastern church, including The Eastern Orthodox Church and Oriental Orthodox Church and those of the Eastern Catholic Church as well as the Eastern Catholic Church, believe in seven significant ceremonies.

The Seven Sacraments of the Roman Catholic Church.

It is believed that the Roman Catholic Church has seven holy sacraments, which are viewed as the mystical channels of divine grace established by Christ. Each one is celebrated with the rite of a visible one, which symbolizes the spiritual, intangible nature of the ceremony. While some sacraments are celebrated only once while others require regular and continuous participation in order in order to build an ongoing “living faith” of the celebrant.

1, Baptism.

Baptism is regarded as the sacrament for admission into the faith, and it brings a sanctifying grace to the one who is being baptismally baptized. In the Church of Catholicism, it is infant baptism that’s the preferred method, however, children who are not baptized or adults who want to become Catholics should also be baptized. A person can be baptized once throughout their life as well as the Catholic Church accepts baptisms performed by other Christian faiths as legitimate. In the rite of baptism holy water is typically sprinkled or poured onto one’s head, by the priest, who also invokes the Trinity by saying “I baptize you in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.” The self of the past is believed to be dead in the water and a new self is born, reflecting the resurrection and death of Christ.

SEE ALSO: Passing Down Religious Beliefs 

2, Eucharist.

The Eucharist also known as Holy Communion, is another ceremony of initiation that is a daily option when desired. It is the principal ceremony for Catholic worship. A child who has been baptized in First Communion is usually celebrated between the ages of 7 and 8 and precedes the first confession (the Reconciliation sacrament). In the church, the priest dedicates wine and bread and the other components of the Eucharist and then transubstantiate them into the blood and body of Christ. In commemoration of Christ’s cross-sacrifice and to reflect on the Last Supper he shared with his followers The congregation then partakes in the meal of holy.

3, Confirmation

Confirmation is the 3rd ceremony of initiation that serves as an order to “confirm” a baptized person in their faith. The ceremony of confirmation could be performed as early as 7 for children who have been baptized as infants, but it generally, occurs around the age of 13 and is carried out following baptism for adults who have converted. A priest or bishop typically will perform the ceremony that includes laying hands on the altar in prayer and blessing, and the application of anointing to your forehead by Chrism (holy oil) with the words “Be sealed with the gifts of the Holy Spirit.” When “sealing” that person as an official and active member of the church the confirmation ceremony outwardly is a sign of the spirit of the Holy Spirit which is believed to give the power to live an exemplary living lives of faith.

4, Reconciliation.

Also called Confession or Penance The Reconciliation sacrament is viewed as a way to make a new start and is able to be performed at any time. Certain Catholics take part in the sacrament every week prior to receiving the Eucharist and others prefer to attend only during the penitential season such as Lent or the Advert season. Reconciliation is a method to receive forgiveness from God for crimes for which the person who committed them truly regrets and brings the sinner back into the communion of God in the church. The sacrament provides an opportunity for self-reflection and obliges the person to accept complete responsibility for his or her mistakes, both in words and actions. The sacrament is a time when the sins are recited privately to a priest who is considered to be a healing agent in the process. Additionally, the priest usually assigns actions of penance, for example, particular prayers, or acts of repentance to be performed in the subsequent days.

SEE ALSO: Religion and Forgiveness 

5, Anointing of the Sick.

Anointing the Sick earlier known as Extreme Unction is a sacrament that is used to provide peace and strength to the sick and to spiritually connect their pain with the suffering of Christ in his suffering and death. The sacrament is offered to those suffering from serious injury or illness or those awaiting surgery, those who are weak and elderly, or children with a medical condition that are mature enough to appreciate the significance.

The rite is performed at a hospital or in a house by a priest who prays for the person before anointing their hands and head using Chrism (holy oil).

6, Marriage.

It is believed that in Catholicism the marriage sacrament is one in which both a baptized person and a baptismally baptized lady administer to each the other by reciting their vows to each other and their life-long commitment. Since a Catholic wedding, sacramental marriage is a reflection of that union of Christ to the Catholic church as the mystical body of Christ and is believed as an inseparable union. The ceremony is usually performed at a church service and a priest serves as the priest of the rite and also as a witness to the agreement of the couples. The marriage union is meant to bless both the spouse and husband by bringing them to a deeper understanding of God’s love. It is designed to be productive for any child being raised according to the guidelines that the Church has to offer.

7, Ordination

Ordination, also known as Holy Orders is a sacrament that is only available to those who are ordained as priests, deacons, or bishops. Similar to Baptism and Confirmation The sacrament is believed to confer an irresistible “character” on the soul of the person who receives it. The rite usually occurs at a particular Sunday service the blessing and prayer are offered when a bishop places their hands upon the forehead of the individual to be ordained. When it comes to the ceremony of the ordination of bishops and priests and bishops, this act grants the sacramental authority of ordaining (for bishops) to baptize, confirm marriages, witness weddings, absolve sins, and consecrate the Eucharist. Deacons are able to baptize, witness marriages, preside, and assist in the celebration of Mass but they are not permitted to dedicate the Eucharist or accept confessions. Except for married deacons, a rule that was restored in the Second Vatican Council, all priests are required to be married.

SEE ALSO: Religion Bigotry

KNOWLEDGE is POWERFUL. Please kindly share Newstime Worldwide website and videos with all your family and friends and contacts Worldwide, thanks. Almighty GOD continue to bless you always.


Newstime Worldwide is not responsible for external websites’ content.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *